I’m a single, 37 year old man, who enjoys staying in style, staying ahead of trends and men’s casual fashion overall. But avoiding the fear that I’m trying to look too young is daunting and something I’ve heard all too often from others. I want to look good or well put together when I’m either at the office or out on the weekend, and hell, maybe even at the gym. I don’t want to be the guy in dad jeans and a tucked in flannel, but I don’t want to be the late 30’s guy wearing skinny jeans and trying to be cool. I’ve had conversations with a particular friend about these exact issues (While his wife laughs at us) and it seems to be a common theme. Rob, make sure Katie sees this and tell her I said thank you for the inspiration. 

I’m in decent shape, but could lose a few pounds because I enjoy beer. I’d say I’m average, but somewhat fit.  I’ve got broad shoulders and I don’t skip leg day at the gym.  Which means I can’t fit into anything I like, ever. My pants size can range from 34/30 to 38/32. From straight fit to regular fit, tapered to boot cut….wait, nevermind, I don’t know why they even make boot cut jeans anymore.  Everything I see that I like is an extra medium or the pants are 29 slims. Jeans are too tight in the thighs and look like I’m smuggling grapes but fit the waist, or they’re perfect in the thighs but I’m swimming in them in the waist. It’s beyond difficult finding a good fit, so because of that, my shopping trips last even longer than I’d like. One brand’s 34 could be a 38 in another. But over the years, I’ve found a few brands, fits and styles that seem to make shopping a little easier.  Thanks to these brands for adding spandex to both their jean and shirt materiel, its really made life a little better.  I’d say 75% of my jeans, pants, shirts and t shirts have the spandex stretch to them.  I can now find shirts that have the athletic or fitted look without my nipples piercing through them because it’s so tight. I can now wear jeans that don’t fit like I’m going to a rave in 1998. 

Moving forward, each week, I will share a few reviews of brands that I like, discuss the fit that they have and the overall look, discuss trends and provide some photos or links. I’m just here to help with everyday fashion for guys who aren’t 6’2″, 160lbs and can buy a size small shirt from Express. If you want to look good and stay relatively modern with your wardrobe without trying too hard, this will guide you through these tough times. I will discuss anything and everything, from shoes, to accessories, from inexpensive to expensive, from JC Pennies to Bloomingdales. So join me and I hope I can make your hatred of trying on clothes that don’t fit a little better. 

Oh, and if you’re one of those assholes who wears 34/32’s, has better control of your diet or has great genetics, you still may enjoy the brands, styles and fits that will be reviewed here. 

Leave a Reply

